



REPORT TO CITY COUNCIL

To: Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Council

From: Jason Simpson, City Manager

Prepared by: Barbara Leibold, City Attorney

Candice Alvarez, MMC, City Clerk

Date: May 23, 2023

Subject: Planning Commission Terms

Recommendation

Option 1

1. Extend the terms of office for Planning Commissioners as follows:

- Commissioners Peters to June 30, 2027 (currently June 30, 2026)
- Commissioner Carroll to June 30, 2025 (currently June 30, 2024)
- Commission Gray to June 30, 2025 (currently June 30, 2024) (see discussion in staff report regarding follow-up two year term)
- the currently vacant seat for District 4 to June 30, 2025 (currently June 30, 2026)
- the soon-to-be-vacant seat for District 5 to June 30, 2025 (currently June 30, 2024);
 and
- Introduce by title only and waive further reading of AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF LAKE ELSINORE, CALIFORNIA, AMENDING AND RESTATING IN ITS ENTIRETY CHAPTER 2.24 (PLANNING COMMISSION) OF THE LAKE ELSINORE MUNICIPAL CODE.

Or

Option 2

- 1. Extend the terms of office for Planning Commissioners as follows:
 - Commissioners Peters to December 31, 2026 (currently June 30, 2026)
 - Commissioner Carroll to December 31, 2024 (currently June 30, 2024)
 - Commission Gray to December 31, 2024 (currently June 30, 2024) (see discussion in staff report regarding follow-up two year term)
 - the currently vacant seat for District 4 to December 31, 2024 (currently June 30, 2026)
 - the soon-to-be-vacant seat for District 5 to December 31, 2024 (currently June 30, 2024); and

- Introduce by title only and waive further reading of AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF LAKE ELSINORE, CALIFORNIA, AMENDING AND RESTATING IN ITS ENTIRETY CHAPTER 2.24 (PLANNING COMMISSION) OF THE LAKE ELSINORE MUNICIPAL CODE; and
- 3. Amend Council Policy No. 200-5A Section G(1) regarding the selection of a Chair and Vice Chair.

Background

On January 27, 1975, the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 539 establishing the City's Planning Commission and Design Review Board, providing for the appointment and removal of the Members, and prescribing their powers and duties.

On February 1, 2018, the City Council adopted Ordinance No. 1387 amending Lake Elsinore Municipal Code Chapter 2.09 providing for the election of five Members of the City Council by Districts.

After the establishment of the Measure Z Citizens Committee by Ordinance No. 1439 adopted by the voters of the City of Lake Elsinore on November 30, 2020, the City Council revised Council Policy No. 200-5A regarding Commission Appointments to formalize the City Council's direction to convert to "by district" Commission appointments and allow Council Members to appoint someone from outside of their District should they not receive an acceptable application from anyone within their District.

Matthew Dobler, a resident of District 4, submitted a letter of resignation from the Planning Commission effective April 19, 2023. Rendell Klaarenbeek, a resident of District 5, submitted a letter of resignation from the Planning Commission effective June 30, 2023.

Discussion

Lake Elsinore Municipal Code Section 2.24.040 states "three members' terms will expire on June 30, 1976, and two members' terms will expire on June 30, 1978," meaning that three of the current members' terms (for Commissioners Carroll and Gray and the soon-to-be-vacant seat for District 5) will currently expire on June 30, 2024 and two members' terms (for Commissioners Peters and the currently vacant seat for District 4) will currently expire June 30, 2026.

However, since the City Council switched to district elections and converted to district Commission appointments, staff is recommending that the Commission's term expirations be reassigned to align with the terms of office for the appointing Council Member.

The chart below summarizes the two options proposed by Staff for consideration:

Planning Commissioners	Representing District	Current Term Ends	Option 1	Option 2
Jodi Peters	District 1	6/30/2026	6/30/2027	12/31/2026
Michael Carroll	District 2	6/30/2024	6/30/2025	12/31/2024
John Gray	District 3**	6/30/2024	6/30/2025	12/31/2024
Vacant (formerly Matthew Dobler)	District 4	6/3 <mark>0/20</mark> 26	6/30/2025	12/31/2024
Rendell Klaarenbeek (resignation effective 6/30/2023)	District 5	6/3 <mark>0/202</mark> 4	6/30/2025	12/31/2024

^{**} Appointment of a Planning Commissioner for District 3 for the term beginning 7/1/2025 (Option 1) or 1/1/2025 (Option 2) will be for a two-year term in order to align that Commissioner's term with the City Council 2026 election cycle for District 3.

Option 1 provides for a Council Member, during the first six months of their term, to meet with the sitting Commissioner or seek a new Commissioner; however, the June term expiration date is not consistent with Measure Z Citizen Committee Members' terms.

Under Option 2, a recently elected Council Members would appoint a new Commissioner almost immediately after the beginning of the Council Member's term (that is, by December or January following the November elections). While this would result in the Planning Commissioners' terms being consistent with Measure Z Citizen Committee Members' terms; there is concern about potential delays in the appointment process occasioned by the holiday season.

Selection of Option 2 will require a minor revision to Council Policy No. 200-5A regarding the timing of selection of the Planning Commission's Chair and Vice Chair. If Option 2 is selected by the City Council, a revised policy will be presented to the City Council for consideration in connection with the second reading of the ordinance amendment.

Fiscal Impact

There is no fiscal impact associated with this item.

Attachments

Attachment 1 - Ordinance